Uncategorized

This is what happens when you disable read receipts in WhatsApp

We no longer present WhatsApp, the most popular instant messaging application of the moment, which already exhausts more than 2,000 million users. Currently, the platform has a large number of tools, including the ability to disable the “read receipt” of a message. As the name suggests, this is a deceptive feature that allows you to play content without your contacts knowing about it. That is, none of them will be able to know when or at what time you read the message. This will save you a lot of hassle. Do you want to know how to use this option and what happens when you disable this read receipt? We tell you everything.

WhatsApp was one of the first social applications to implement a visual proof that the received message has been seen and read. And this, through the famous icons that we all know today: the blue checkmarks. However, this feature removes some privacy from users. For this reason, the platform has reviewed its position by offering more flexibility and respecting everyone’s expectations. So, for those who don’t know yet, there’s a solution: if for some reason you don’t want any of your contacts to know that you’ve entered the app and have already read their message, WhatsApp gives you the option. to disable the read receipt. However, you should be aware that this action will have an impact on other features of the app.

What happens if you disable reading received messages on WhatsApp?

whatsapp chat

WhatsApp discussions – Source: spm

  • The first thing you’ll notice is that your contact won’t see the famous blue checkmarks when they read your message.
  • However, this will also affect any other messages you receive. Until you enable read receipts, you won’t see those blue checkmarks on any other contacts either.
  • Likewise, your contacts will not know that you have seen their WhatsApp status either.
  • The principle is similar with the photos or videos that you receive regularly. Even if you open them, the checkmarks will remain gray and no one will know you opened them.
  • Also note that once read receipt is re-enabled, previous messages will not change color. Therefore, the blue checkmarks will only be visible during new conversations.

To do this, go to the WhatsApp application.

  • Go to settings.
  • There you will see the Account tab, then Privacy.
  • Here you will find that the option “Read confirmation” is activated.
  • Just turn off the button and you’re done.

From now on, you won’t see the double blue ticks and the other details we mentioned.

Disabling notifications does not affect group chats. In practice, in a group conversation the read is always reported even if the read receipt has been disabled. By exploiting this fact, it is possible to easily get read notification of a message you send to someone.

So the trick is to create a group with the recipient consisting of only two people, you and the other contact. To do this, simply go to Chat, tap New Group and add just the recipient to the group. Give the group a name and send them a message. When your contact reads it, they will be notified by the blue checkmarks. This will ensure that your message has been read, even if read receipt is still disabled.

exchange messages

Exchange of messages on WhatsApp – Istockphoto

  • Enter the WhatsApp application.
  • Access the Settings menu.
  • Tap the Account item in the menu that appeared.
  • Select the Privacy option. It should be the first on the “Account” screen.
  • Simply turn on the “Read Acknowledgments” slider.

read also Phone memory full? Here’s how to free up space and avoid buying a new laptop

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.